Giving & Support

LAUNCH PAD offers something unique to both nationally acclaimed playwrights and UC Santa Barbara students: the opportunity to work together and learn from each other.

"I don't know of any other new play workshop opportunity that gives the writer the experience of developing her play all the way through readings to rehearsal to full production... LAUNCH PAD created a nurturing and exciting environment that challenged my play to grow, while giving students the invaluable experience of helping to develop a new work."
~ Enid Graham, playwright, What Martha Did

Whether on a fully produced new play in a Preview Production or as part of our Reading Series, playwrights see their work brought to life and can experiment with changes throughout the process. Adding faculty and guest artists to the mix, the creative collaboration is present through to the final performance, giving students the dyamic opportunity to work closely with professionals in the fields they study. 

This program relies on the support of our friends and alumni. If you love exciting new works performed by talented, up-and-coming actors, we invite you to consider making a gift and joining the LAUNCH PAD family.

Especially in these unprecedented times, a gift of any size can make a difference. Thank you for your support.




For more information on making a gift, please contact Leslie GraySenior Director of Development, at (805) 893-4193, or by email at leslie.gray@ucsb.eduWe look forward to hearing from you!


Please make your check payable to "UC Regents." On the memo section of the check, or in an enclosed letter, indicate that the gift is for LAUNCH PAD.

Mail to: 

Leslie Gray
Office of Development
University of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA  93106-2013


To make your contribution now via our secure online giving website, click the "make a gift" button below. Please be sure to mention LAUNCH PAD in the comment box on the giving form!


In loving memory...

It is with great sadness that we mourn the loss of our dear friend, Bill Kitchen. Bill and Linda Kitchen have been devoted supporters and friends of the UCSB Theater and Dance Community and important members of our LAUNCH PAD family for many years. We will always remember Bill as a generous, insightful, charismatic individual with a fabulous sense of humor! He was a great storyteller. We are so grateful to have known Bill and will miss him very much.

"May flights of angels sing thee to thy rest!"

Bill and Linda Kitchen in Sonoma, October 2022
Bill and Linda Kitchen in Sonoma


LAUNCH PAD Supporters:

The 2022-2023 season is made possible by the*Arnhold Endowed Theater and Dance Production Fund and the Jody and John Arnhold Endowed Director of Performance Fund. 

  • Jan and Don O’Dowd Performance Fund
  • The Towbes Fund for the Performing Arts, a field of interest fund of the Santa Barbara Foundation
  • Myrna Bernard
  • Jill and John C. Bishop
  • Michael S. Brown and Laura Malakoff
  • Constance S. Brainin
  • Deborah Brevoort
  • Liz Engelman
  • Dr. Leonard M. and Jill H. Fromer
  • Leslie Gray
  • Eva and Yoel Haller
  • Janet Head and Dr. Amr El Abbadi
  • Melissa and Michael Hohmann
  • John and Kim Høj
  • Arlene Hutton
  • Bob Johnson and Lisa Reich
  • *Bill and Linda Kitchen
  • Julie Ladner
  • Margaret Leonard and Clare Sheils
  • Philip Levien & Darlene Craviotto
  • Dr. David Marshall and Dr. Candace Waid
  • Jane Martin and Michael Davis
  • Myles Mattenson
  • Maureen McFadden
  • Meredith McMinn
  • Lucinda and Thurman Newsome
  • Don O'Dowd
  • Kim and Dean Pananides
  • Doug and Alissa Parrish
  • Aurora Perry (in honor of James Still)
  • Charles and Joanna Reisner
  • Susan Rose 
  • Pesha Rudnick
  • Anne Shanto
  • Jean Scott
  • Ellen Shadur
  • Jeffry Sherbakoff and Amelia Gomez
  • Jessie Sherman
  • Dale and Greg Stamos
  • William and Cheri Steinkellner
  • Alison Tatlock and David Wiater
  • Dr. Simon and Euzetta Williams
  • Samah Yasin
  • Steve and Joan Young
  • UCSB Summer Events and Entertainment Grant Program

*To learn more about the Arnhold Endowed Theater and Dance Production Fund please read this article from the UCSB Current.


Photo of "Three Dancing" by Lauren Mercier